Flying high in a friendly sky

During the late 1960’s one reconnaissance aircraft soared above the rest.  The SR-71 Blackbird was the first long range aircraft to reach Mach-3 speeds.  Despite its technological muscle, the Blackbird had a pronounced flaw which its engineers could not resolve.  Prior to take off, the Blackbird would routinely leak jet fuel on the runway.

I cannot take the impact wastefulness and pollution lightly.  Yet, upon take off, the friction of drag created ample thermal expansion of its metal plates such that the Blackbird traversed the skies without losing a drop of fuel.  It is in this way that a well-engineered system seeks to minimize physical resistance through careful adaption.

black-bird

Systems of yoga too are well-engineered inventions.  Inspired by technology, I seek to create for myself the most intelligent daily yoga practice possible.  In this way, my personal practice must be well adapted to thrive under conditions of physical stress.  This goal cannot be achieved by resisting the laws of physics.  One’s yoga practice needs to be malleable, adjusting to our current environment.

Oftentimes the stiffness I feel in the morning can leave me under the impression that my best practice is simply out of reach today.  Yet when I think of myself in terms of the Blackbird, I understand even those with the sharpest practices oftentimes feel setbacks while standing in samastitihi.  The only clear disanalogy I routinely observe is that I happen to leak fluids through my skin during flight.

stand_on_one_foot_2

This week, I plan on teaching the Lion Sequence & Pranayama during my regularly schedule class.

Leave a Reply

