Please DO try this at home

Before starting an Ashtanga primary series class, it is not uncommon for me to refer to myself as “The flight attendant on your sky bound journey to savasana.” This comic relief helps to soften an otherwise untimely philosophical message. Essentially, your yoga practice is your real teacher. My role is to help your inner guru engage with a potentially unfamiliar sequence, so everyone benefits.

A Vermont Landscape
A Vermont Landscape

Practicing yoga is a whole lot like reading. Do you remember the first time you ever took out a library book? Personally, when I was 8 or 9 years old I felt a sense of excitement surrounding this newfound privilege. Similarly, yoga practices are yours to check out in the comfort of your own living room. There is only one catch though. Yoga postures and vinyasa alike require practice and patience to become proficient in. But with regular practice, it is not only possible, but highly probable that your efforts will be rewarded.

Savasana -  the final resting pose of Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga
Savasana – the final resting pose of Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga

This fall, I will reassume my role as a yoga instructor at Yoga Vermont – I sincerely look forward to instructing you directly. This Sunday, In light of the full moon, I anticipate teaching Chandra Krama. Yet, I also anticipate that many students will need help digesting this unfamiliar sequence. I will outline the sequences I plan on teaching in advance, on this very blog. I look forward to laughing and practicing with you in class every Sunday, at 12:30 PM, within our Church St. studio.

Namaste,
Bryan

One thought on “Please DO try this at home

Leave a Reply

